Restoring Deleted Groups

This topic demonstrates how to restore an Active Directory group that was previously deleted in EmpowerID.

When you restore a deleted group, EmpowerID restores the membership of that group as well.

To restore a group that was previously deleted in EmpowerID

  1. From the Navigation Sidebar, navigate to the Group Management page by expanding Identities and clicking Groups.
  2. From the Actions pane of Group Manager, click the Restore Deleted Groups action.
  3. In the following image, the Locations pane has been collapsed to conserve screen real estate.

  4. In the Deleted Groups lookup that appears, search for the deleted group you want to restore and then tick the box beside the group in the grid to select it.
  5. Click Submit and then click Yes to confirm that you want to restore the group.
  6. Click OK to close the Operation Execution Summary.

To verify the group is restored in EmpowerID

  1. Search for the group you just restored. You should see a record for it in the grid.
  2. From the grid, click the Logon Link for the group.
  3. This directs you to the View One page for the group. View One pages allow you to view details about an object in EmpowerID and make changes to those objects as needed.

  4. From the group's View One page, expand the Group Members accordion. If the group had members, you should see they have been added back to the group.

To verify the group is restored in Active Directory

  1. Open Active Directory Users and Computers and search for the group you restored.
  2. You should see the group exists in the OU you selected when you originally created it.
  3. Open the Properties window for the group and click the Members tab. You should see all users that were members of the group before it was deleted.