Deleting Groups

This topic demonstrates how to delete a group in EmpowerID and is divided into the following activities:

Prerequisites: This topic demonstrates how to delete a group by deleting an Active Directory security group. As a prerequisite to deleting an Active Directory security group, EmpowerID must be connected to Active Directory and the group must exist in EmpowerID. For a detailed walkthrough of connecting EmpowerID to Active Directory, see Connecting to Active Directory.

To delete a group in EmpowerID

  1. From the Navigation Sidebar, navigate to the Group Management page by expanding Identities and clicking Groups.
  2. Search for the group you want to delete and then click the record for that account. You should see a list of contextual actions that can be executed against that group appear in the Actions pane.
  3. In the following image, the Locations pane has been collapsed to conserve screen real estate.

  4. Click the Delete Group(s) action.
  5. Click Yes to confirm that you want to delete the group.
  6. Click OK to close the Operation Execution Summary.

To verify that the group was deleted in EmpowerID

  1. From the Navigation Sidebar, navigate to the Audit Log by expanding System Logs and clicking Audit Log.
  2. From the Home page of the EmpowerID Web application, navigate to Change Manager by clicking the View Audit Logs > View Change Manager tiles.
  3. From the Audit Log tab of Change Manager, type Delete Group to <Group Name> in the Search field. You should see the Delete Group action appear in the grid.

To verify the group was deleted in Active Directory

  1. Open Active Directory Users and Computers and search for the group you deleted.
  2. You should see no results returned.