Deleting Shared Folders

This topic demonstrates how to delete shared folders in EmpowerID and is divided into the following activities:

Prerequisites: Before you can delete a shared folder in EmpowerID, the following prerequisites need to be met:
  • EmpowerID must first be connected to Active Directory. For the details, see Connecting to Active Directory.
  • After EmpowerID is connected to Active Directory, a Windows File Server within that directory must be added to EmpowerID as a managed resource system. For the details, see Adding Windows File Servers.
  • Additionally, for EmpowerID to have the necessary NTFS permissions to delete shared folders, you must associate the Windows Server Management Web Service job with a service account that is a member of the domain administrator's group with a password that is vaulted in EmpowerID. For more details, see Configuring the EmpowerID Windows Server Agent Account.

To delete a shared folder

  1. From the Navigation Sidebar, navigate to the Shared Folders management page by expanding Resources and clicking Shared Folders.
  2. From the Non Home Folders tab of the Share Folders management page, search for the shared folder you want to delete.
  3. Click the drop-down arrow to the left of the Share Name link and click the Delete Shared Folder link.
  4. Click Yes to confirm you want to delete the shared folder.
  5. Click OK to close the Operation Execution Summary.

To verify the shared folder is deleted

  1. From the Navigation Sidebar, navigate to Change Manager by expanding System Log and clicking Audit Log.
  2. From the Audit Log tab of Change Manager, type Delete Shared Folder in the Search field and press ENTER.
  3. You should see a record for the Delete Shared Folder action.

  4. On your File server, navigate to the local path where the shared folder you just deleted used to reside.
  5. You should see that the shared folder no longer exists.